Don’t Let Life be a Missed Ice Cream

ice-cream

Every day as I walk across campus near the cafeteria, there are inevitably ice cream cones abandoned on the sidewalks. Crazy as it is, it made me think about how many opportunities we miss in life, like the opportunity to enjoy a tasty ice cream. I’m sure you’ve heard the saying before that, in the end, you’ll only regret the things you didn’t do, not the things that you did. As cheesy as it sounds, I think it holds true, even in cases other than ice cream. If you look up the most common regrets people had in life, most of them start with “I wish I had”, not “I wish I hadn’t”. As for me, I’m the World’s Worst Worrywart. There should be some kind of prize for that. But, I’d probably worry about that, too. As we make our way through life, we can’t let trivial stumbling blocks become major hold-ups in our life. In the time you spend worrying about the little things, think of how many opportunities you missed. Take the time to go on adventures. People always regret not traveling enough. Maybe you should take time to catch up with someone you haven’t talked to in a while; regretting lost friendships is totally preventable. Or take the time to give to someone else today, even if it means leaving a kind note for them, or holding a door. The point is, do the things now that will prevent regret later. Young or old, it’s never too late to start doing things for you, and living life to the fullest, so go get that ice cream while you have the chance. Until next time,

Abby

 

Leave a Reply

